Love The Little Things #2

Welcome to week #2 of my #LittleLoves which have made up my week. I really enjoyed reading all the posts last week, and as I joined late you will be pleased to know that I made a conscious effort to write my notes as the week developed.

And this is what ‘Our Little Family’ got up to this week …

this is us drawn by @HannahsDoodles

this is us drawn by @HannahsDoodles

Read

I’m still making my way through the book I mentioned last week, ‘You’re The One That I want’ so I thought I would share some of the books Lil G has read this week. Each night he chooses one or two stories before settling down for a story and a snuggle with Daddy. This week saw the return of 3 oldies – Monkey Puzzle, Zog and The Highway Rat, by our favourite author Julia Donaldson.

Reading the Monkey Puzzle

Reading the Monkey Puzzle

What to choose

What to choose

Watched

Hubby and I work full time, so as you can imagine life is rather busy. We often have a planner full of programs and series to catch up on. This week we needed to catch up on the final episode of ‘Great British Menu’. We do love a food program and this series was dedicated to the D-Day Veterans, it was a great celebration and really special to watch. As Mr H is a huge footy fan, and for me, I am just a huge David Beckham fan, we actually managed to watch his documentary ‘David Beckham into the Unknown’ as it aired on television. How does one look so handsome drinking a pint of Guinness? Eek!

And of course, the first of the World Cup games last night.

Wore

With the World Cup fast approaching and Lil G’s ever growing obsession with football, he demanded on wearing what he calls his ‘Football Suits’ at every opportunity. Cutie alert …

FootballManUtd

Me on the other hand … I have been organising my closet for the *fingers crossed* warmer days ahead.

LittleLoves

Heard

Can you guess … ‘We’re playing for England, In-ger-land, We’re playing the song, We’re singing for England, In-ger-land, Arrivederci it’s one one one’. 

Lil G is now at the stage where he asks if he can call Daddy or Nanny. It is adorable listening to him talk to Nanny on the telephone, telling her about his day at Kindergarten, asking if she’s had a good day.

Made

Lil G is a fussy eater, and has been for the last 12 months. A combination of his sheer stubbornness and lack of hunger really. When he’s hungry he really enjoys his food. What Lil G does love to do is cook his food and bake his treats so, in an effort to encourage him to taste new foods we try to spend some time together in the kitchen, at least once or twice a week if we can. This week we made an evening meal of lamb kebab and a feta pasta salad and for dessert (on two separate days might I add) Chocolate Giggles courtesy of @SweetPeaPantry – biscuits to die for. If you haven’t come across Sweet Pea Pantry’s ready-made boxes of ingredients you should!

Food Baking 9 June

And lastly …

As the World Cup kicked off last night, it looks like I have some ‘football widow’ moments, or should I say hours ahead. Lil G’s party bags arrived yesterday *exciting*. I also write for a new parenting website Up All Hours and need to put finger to keyboard to write my next post. Oh, and how could I forget, I am climbing Mount Snowdon on Thursday 19th June, raising money for Charity. I need to get some final training in before the big hike! Eek

Perhaps not so, but here’s to a quieter weekend, before the madness of Lil G’s birthday week fast approaches!

HomeSweetHome

Love to you all, KA x

 

For thislinky I am linking up with @butwhymummy – for more information follow this link

24 thoughts on “Love The Little Things #2

  1. Aww love the family doodle! Ooh, party planning is tres exciting! & good luck with your climb, i hope you raise lots of money. We watch the Davy B show to, although I’m not sure who was swooning more, me or the hub?! x

    Like

    • Morning, aww thanks, it was a fathers day present last year. Only 10 days now until his birthday, very exciting. Thanks for the good luck. Yes my hubby has a huge crush on Mr B! x

      Like

  2. I’m glad I recorded the David Beckham documentary as I was asleep before it even started! I must get around to watching it soon. I managed about 20 minutes of the opening of the World Cup before I was bored senseless … luckily, Mr M doesn’t like football so we can watch Celebrity Masterchef instead! 😉 xx

    Like

  3. HA HA- Loads of things to love on here- the books are fab aren’t they. I heard gold old JD on Radio 2 recently, she has a new book out soon so I’ll keep my eyes peeled for that.
    We are watching the world cup and betting on each game- though haven’t alerted the girls!
    I have saved the Beckham programme so am looking forward to that- he is lush isn’t he!
    The football suits are super cute and the sog should be on the History syllabus!

    Like

    • My hubby would agree with you about the song! Let’s hope they don’t struggle against Italy tonight. Ooh a new book, will have to look out for it too … Have a lovely weekend x

      Like

  4. I love that En-ger-land song – it makes me feel so nostalgic for 1990!! :-/ I have to say a child who will eat lamb kebabs and a pasta salad does not sound like a fussy eater to me 🙂 I love your ‘little family’ picture – sooo cute! Have a great weekend X

    Like

    • Good morning, the song is very nostalgic isn’t it! Oh he’s been a monkey with his food for 12 months, some days he’ll not eat anything put in front of him, other days he’ll surprise me like he did here. Very frustrating as until he was 18 months he’d eat everything and anything. That’s one of my favourite pictures too, @HannahsDoodles is very talented x

      Like

  5. Julia Donaldson is great isn’t she. We are big fans in our house too. The football kits are so cute…makes up for you being a football widow I guess?

    Like

  6. How cute does Lil G look in his football kits, so adorable! And good for you climbing Snowdon, I really hope you get a nice day for it!

    I love that family picture at the start of the post, it’s gorgeous!

    Lots of fab little loves this week, I’m also due a huge wardrobe clear-out but it’s on hold until the summer hols!

    Have a wonderful week xxx

    Like

  7. We love Julia Donaldson here too. I’m always spotting new books to add to E’s collection!
    We watched the David Beckham programme and I spent the whole time marvelling at his gorgeousness, haha!
    Enjoy the weekend lovely xxx

    Like

    • He is so gorgeous isn’t he, loved the little clip of him with Brooklyn in the garden, very cute. House envy too! Happy Friday and enjoy the sunny weekend x

      Like

    • Good morning Jenny, happy Friday! The last photo is in one of my favourite rooms of the house, our morning room. It’s all about the memories isn’t it x #LittleLoves

      Like

    • Hello, and thank you my dear, I think this may be my favourite linky, sssshhhh don’t tell the others! I love him in his football suits, shame they are so bleeding expensive, especially when nanny loses a sock! Eek. Yes Mount Snowdon, i’m climbing with the team at work so hopefully it will be fun too! Have a nice weekend x

      Like

  8. Aww, the little man in his ‘football suits’!! So sweet! And go you with the cooking and the baking! My three are all super fussy too – so much so that we tend to eat the same things on a weekly basis. I’m majorly impressed that your little man would eat lamb kebabs and feta salad – it looks delicious too! Have a great weekend poppet xx

    Like

    • Good morning my love, he does love his football suits, so cute. I just try to keep the baking simple, short sharp burst of making something, then watching it cook manages to keep his attention. Have a lovely weekend x

      Like

  9. I love that star light you have!! It still amazes me that on maternity leave I can be terrible at keeping up with my blog but peopel manage way better working full time! Go Hargreaves! Great to see you hear again this week and fab post!xx #littleloves

    Like

I'd love to hear your thoughts...

