KISS principle

Keep It Simple, Stupid. Keep it short and simple. Keep it simple and straightforward.

It can’t be that easy. Can it? Is this the reason I have been failing on some most occasions? For 3 years! 3 years!

Have you guessed what it is that I am referring to? That would be an instruction to either Mr H or Lil G. My 34 year old husband and 3 year old toddler. Who’d have thought that there is only 31 years between them yet they both struggle with the same little thing. A bloody instruction. Father and Son!

Wikipedia tells me that the KISS principle states …

that most systems work best if they are kept simple rather than made complicated; therefore simplicity should be a key goal in design and unnecessary complexity should be avoided

And more importantly, there are benefits to introducing the KISS principle – could these be applied to Our Little Family? *I’m on to a winner here*

How will I benefit from KISS

  • You will be able to solve more problems, faster. (excellent)
  • You will be able to produce code to solve complex problems in fewer lines of code (not appropriate)
  • You will be able to produce higher quality code (not appropriate)
  • You will be able to build larger systems, easier to maintain (I may be able to adapt this, he will grow after all)
  • You’re code base will be more flexible, easier to extend, modify or refactor when new requirements arrive (interesting, although there will never be a 2nd!)
  • You will be able to achieve more than you ever imagined (fantastic)
  • You will be able to work in large development groups and large projects since all the code is stupid simple (a birthday party?!)

And then I saw this point, right at the bottom of an example of how KISS cannot be applied here …

The areas that the principle doesn’t apply to are: emotions, love and most importantly, your marriage 🙂

It’s kind of obvious really. After all he is only 3 years old. A toddler. A complex little person. A delicate soul. I just need to remember to take all emotion, love and my marriage out of the equation and all will be ok.

I will make it my business to deliver softly spoken, clear and concise instructions. If I think back they have always worked best. Why has it taken me 3 years to realise this?

During a particularly difficult hour yesterday afternoon, listening to Mr H and Lil G arguing over something rather silly, I went to bed thinking, we need to get on top of this. We have to find a way of making our gorgeous but sometimes difficult toddler listen and comply to our instructions.

Make everything as simple as possible. Simplify … Think The Cube. Make it easier for them to understand. Put simply, we cannot afford to bribe him, not all of the time anyway!

 

kiss

 

ShareWithMePicM[1]

 

3 thoughts on “KISS principle

  1. hahaha Couldn’t agree more. Men at all ages need similar instructions. Let me know if it works. Love this post. Thanks for linking up to Share With Me. Love the photo to accompany it too. So cute. Hope it works for you. #sharewithme

    Like

  2. Ha! Surely getting husband& child to listen to instructions is the bane of every woman’s life?! I know that sounds horribly over-generalised but it feels very true to me at the moment. If you get the Cube/KISS thing to work, do let us in on the secret because I could REALLY do with some of my requests (to either of them) being met 😉 #sharewithme

    Like

    • Do you know, until this morning it was working, KISS had saved me but then, this morning I asked Lil G to come clean his teeth, eventually he did but then when I came downstairs I found my sign ‘KISS principle’ scribbled out. Follow me on instagram to see the evidence!

      Like

I'd love to hear your thoughts...

