Competitive Spirit

As some of you know I have the pleasure of writing a monthly post for the Up All Hours parenting website. As my ‘July’ post is now live on the website I thought it would be a great time to share it with you.

Most of you have just been through it, I am sure we all feel differently about it, it would be good to know what you think?

I won’t lie to you, I am a competitive person. I may even be guilty of competing with myself on occasion! Mr H is not so competitive, although he does enjoy sports. Which makes for a good balance between us I think.

So, what do you think… Should I polish the competitive streak in Lil G?

Take a read and let me know what you think… The Competitive Spirit

 

IMG_5682

 

 

ShareWithMePicM[1] - Copy

 

 

5 thoughts on “Competitive Spirit

  1. I have to agree I am the same I even compete with myself and try to out do myself all the time and get better and better at things just because I like to be the best. lol That’s how I was raised to fight for all and hopefully you will get somewhere. I don’t think there is anything wrong in teaching our children this. We have to teach them to lose too because we can’t win everything all the time but it gives them drive and motivates them to do better and I think that’s fantastic. I think my two will be highly competitive because both mr p and I are highly competitive we might create monsters (hopefully not) or we might have two completely non competitive children. One never knows. But I think it’s definitely something to show them. Thanks for linking up to Share With Me #sharewithme

    Like

  2. I absolutely think that competition should be encouraged – healthy competition anyway. The only problem with encouraging it in your children is the disapproving looks you get from the other mums!

    Like

  3. I don’t think there is anything wrong at all with honing a child’s desire to win- after all, in life sadly everyone isn’t a winner, and I think it’s good for them to push THEMSELVES (not be pushed) into doing the best they can. It’s also important though to teach them to be good sports and to know that they can’t win all the time, but just to try their best and not be too hard on themselves- a tricky balance to achieve I think! I was always a competitive child and participated in loads of sports, and a healthy competitive streak served me well I think. I never felt really bad losing, but I sure did want to win! F had his first sports day a few weeks ago, and he won 2 races out of 3. Obviously he didn’t care, and I just said well done for trying to run so fast, but secretly I was bursting with pride- he’s 3! I need to be careful that I don’t turn into one of ‘THOSE’ parents, haha! #sharewithme

    Like

I'd love to hear your thoughts...

