Review : Let’s Bake! : Sweet Pea Pantry

As a busy parent who dare I say it, is often guilty of falling short of time, therefore putting the lovely little things like baking with Lil G to one side, I was delighted when this colourful package arrived. Just in time for the start of #GBBO too.

photo (5)

 

We love the packaging, who wouldn’t? Just look how fun they are. More importantly as Bake-at-home mixes with all dry ingredients included, they are super quick to make, full of healthy goodness and fun. I especially love the tag line, Super foods for Super kids. Perfect for my Super George! With some really interesting ingredients, some new to me (Quinoa) and the faithful ginger, I was intrigued to know more.

I have always been keen to introduce Lil G to the kitchen. More recently it has become more and more tricky, he’s bored with the fussy processes. My biggest challenge is keeping it fun and within his short attention span. I want to encourage him to learn but at the grand old age of 3, I am a firm believer that these types of activities need to be fun first!

The fact that the lovely ladies at Sweet Pea Pantry have put together there mixes so that you only need 1, 2 or 3 wet ingredients which are more often than not in your cupboard, they really do make for a spur of the moment, no fuss, easy and fun baking session. Thank you Sweet Pea Pantry for bringing baking back into our weekly schedule.

The first batch ‘Super Oat Flapjack’ – we made with Lil G’s friend Freddy on a play date. The boys had so much fun. They worked together through the 3 simple steps with a little help from me when it came to heating the butter on the stove.

photo (4)

 

They talked through what they were doing, it really was a joy to watch. They were baking, without hesitation, fuss or boredom.

 

photo (1)

 

As you know it’s all in the taste, and wow they were so delicious. Or as Lil G said ‘yummy scrummy’ – I would go as far as to say that they were better than any of those full fat, naughty flap jacks I made in Food Technology at School! The super food Quinoa added an unusual taste, nice actually. The boys didn’t notice it, all the adults who tasted them mentioned a different taste but commented on it positively.

 

photo

 

And we’re off again. In preparation for this weeks #GBBO Lil G and I donned our aprons on Sunday and began baking. This time, Ginger Giggles!

photo (1)

I turned my head for one second and there he was, taking a little taste … (I loved doing this as a child so I couldn’t help but smile!)

photo (2)

 

Hey presto. After only 8 minutes in a pre-heated oven (yes don’t forget to pre-heat the oven), we have Lil G’s favourite so far, ‘Ginger Giggles’. I have to admit to stealing a few this morning before my gorgeous boy boxed them up to share with his friends at Kindergarten. We received a glowing report at home time!

 

photo (3)

 

Super foods for super kids – I like it!

 

For more on the selection of five Bake-at-home- mixes click here. If you’re feeling like adding baking to your monthly ‘to do‘ then why not sign up to the monthly subscription where a box of Sweet Pea Pantry loveliness drops through your letter box ready to be baked. Perfect for your weekly #GBBO fix!

 

NB :  We were provided with these two products for the purpose of this review

 

Family Fever

 

 

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “Review : Let’s Bake! : Sweet Pea Pantry

I'd love to hear your thoughts...

