Traditional Toys…

Let’s travel back to a time when low-tech toys ruled a child’s play. No Teksta T-Rex or Tablets ruling the roost.

Here in the Hargreaves house we are huge fans of wooden toys, old school toys, retro toys and the classics we played with as children. Mr H trawls websites looking for the types of toys which bring the memories flooding back. Quite simple toys really. When I watch Lil G playing, it is the old school toys which he has more fun with. Where his imagination runs free.

Do you remember counting on an abacus at school? Did you have a wooden rocking horse? I am an 80’s child, (an early 80’s child might I add) and they were the toys I played with. Don’t get me wrong we had consoles too. I remember having a Commodore C64, an Atari, a Sega Megadrive and a couple of others I think. I remember being addicted to Valhalla and Cannon Fodder. I’m sure they were on floppy disk too!

I wonder if there is someone reading this post that is thinking huh? What is she talking about. Well if you are, you don’t know what you are missing kid!

When I say old school toys i’m talking about… My Little Ponies, a Dolls House, a Hobby Horse, Skittles, a Play Kitchen, an Easel, Toy Food, a Tool Bench and one of Lil G’s favourites … His Den. Slightly controversial but for me even though they might be cheaper, the plastic versions of some of these toys just don’t cut it. There’s just something about wooden toys and retro toys which makes me smile. Lil G prefers them too. Maybe this is because he has them available to him but actually I don’t think it is. I would also say that they are harder wearing. When we have given in to the cheaper plastic version they haven’t lasted. All of Lil G’s wooden toys have lasted.

Here are just some of our favourites… (click on the image to take you to the store)

review picture 5

Show Time

Show Time

gltc review 1

photo (40)

photo (41)

IMG_1905

Just like where we buy Lil G’s clothes from we are equally as choosy about where we buy his toys from. Other than scouring Amazon for bargains we do have a favourite Toy Shop. And as we are now in the run up to Christmas, I thought I would share this with you.

There’s only one Great Little Trading. Totes Amazing! Honestly they have such a wide selection of toys, reasonably priced, superb quality, excellent customer service, great offers (register to receive them) and super fast delivery. The store stocks more than just toys too. In my opinion it’s a one stop shop. They also incorporate a number of educational toys to into their ranges as well as furniture and more practical items too. Huge fans we are, but I guess you know that already!

It takes a lot for me to recommend somewhere. We stumbled across this award-winning store a few months before Lil G arrived (nearly 4 years ago now) and we haven’t looked back since. It is always our first point of call. Lil G seems to favour it too. This is him browsing the recent catalogue, which made its way through our door…

IMG_1864

He’s making a list, and checking it twice … And so it begins! The list.

Where do you find your old school toys from or even your toys? Let’s share the love of toys. After all the most magical time of the year is fast approaching *shrieks with excitement*.

Signature

*NB This is not a review post. It is a recommendation from me to you.

Lets Talk Mommy

5 thoughts on “Traditional Toys…

  1. I tend to drool over the wares on offer at places like GLTC but then sob with dismay at the prices! I know, I know, you pay for quality. To be honest I just splashed out on some really good quality hand painted wooden Chuggington trains which fit in with all the wooden track that JJ already owns. I think they are fab and I’m sure they will also be collector’s items in future (I hope!). We are now moving into the era of Lego with JJ turning 5 and I do actually feel quite nostalgic about Lego. My 14 & 15 year old nieces are *very* keen for me to get the boys into Lego as they have gifted us loads of their old stuff! X #sharewithme

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Gorgeous. We buy stuff from GLTC all the time and I have my eye on a teepee very similar and I did see the puppet show display and think I must find a place for that. lol I tend to think of toys for my kids that are going to get them being creative. We don’t have a lot of high tech stuff here as I didn’t have any growing up I don’t see the need for it. I like them to know how to use stuff so they are not completely out of the loo but using their imagination is just as important I think. Lovely post. And photos hun! Thanks for linking up to Share With Me #sharewithme

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear your thoughts...

