Our little routine…

… the Kindergarten run.

On a Monday and Friday we have our little routine and it has become one of Lil G and I’s Ordinary Moments.

We walk hand in hand to Kindergarten. We talk about our weekend, about the week, about the day ahead, about what makes us happy. I LOVE LOVE LOVE this time together.

 

photo (92)

 

It’s a lovely way to start the week. It’s so much of a rush on my 3 commuting days, therefore it’s a welcome relief when we can take our time and not dash for the door at 7.45am. On those days when he decides to sleep in a little later, I am glad that I don’t have to pull him from his beautiful dreams. On those days when he wants to play with his toys, I am glad that I don’t have to say no. On those days when for some reason which I am yet to understand he decides to have an almighty tantrum, I can let it be, I don’t have to get myself stressed, I can walk away and like magic it disappears.

I do wonder if Lil G’s enthusiasm for walking to Kindergarten will soon disappear as the winter months make their entrance. However on our little shopping trip this weekend, we chose a little umbrella just for him. He apparently cannot wait for it to rain! Eek.

The walk to Kindergarten is just lovely. We wander down a couple of paths, we bump into the Lollipop man (more on him here), cross a main road which enables us to practice our Stop, Look & Listen. We then have a lovely marsh area to wander around which Lil G absolutely loves to explore, before we step on to the road to Kindergarten, which at the minute is lined by lovely autumnal trees.

Is there a better way to start the day?

And then there is a Friday. The last working day of the week. All day I am thinking about the moment when I can collect Lil G from Kindergarten knowing that we have 2 whole days to spend as Our Little Family. He is filled with so much excitement. Desperate to run across the marsh rather than around it as we do on the morning walk. Is Daddy home yet?

 

photo (91)

 

We also have a little tradition which we do on a Friday. We take a selfie. Lil G is mastering his smile and certainly isn’t camera-shy. He even understands the term selfie. This makes me smile a lot. For those of you reading this that don’t know me too well, I am a snap happy mummy, always pointing a camera in Lil G’s face, therefore the fact that he now poses and asks me to take a picture is just super and again makes me smile a lot.

 

photo (89)

photo (88)

 

And there you have it, another one of The Ordinary Moments for Our Little Family. If you would like to join in with this stunning linky, then hop over to @MummyDaddyMe or click the link below…

 

mummy daddy me

14 thoughts on “Our little routine…

  1. Reminds me so much of when my eldest was smaller and it was just me and him and we would do our little things. Enjoy all the fun before the routine of school and all the joy that comes with that! Lovely beautiful post 🙂

    Like

  2. Oh this is so lovely. I loved reading more about your little routine and the smiles on your faces are so clear to see. We drive to the girls nursery but I do know what you mean about the time to chat- Mads and I constantly chatter on the way there and back about what she has been up too. I treasure the moments too. Gorgeous photos of you all too. x

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh bless him! So sweet! Little moments like walking to school are often the most special, aren’t they? I love that the ordinary parts of our day can become some of the best too! 🙂 Gorgeous post sweetpea xx

    Liked by 1 person

  4. What a lovely little walk to start the day. O starts preschool in January and I’m looking forward to the “school run” we’ll be doing on a Thursday, although our walk won’t be as pretty as yours. xx

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Oh what a beautiful walk to start the day – and I know what you mean about loving the relaxed feeling of the not working days, they were always the highlights of my week 🙂

    Like

I'd love to hear your thoughts...

