A birthday, A new routine {Little Loves #2}

Good day #LittleLoves crew. How are you? Lovely to see some new faces.

This last week has been a little strange. The weekend was AMAZING. It was my birthday and my boys were so sweet. We had a lovely lunch out and the day ended with cake! And then Monday came and so did the return to work and the return to Kindergarten for Lil G. It was the return to structure and routine which I have struggled with. Lil G has bounced straight back into it which has been such a relief. Setting an alarm and only seeing my gorgeous boy for 2 hours a day is torture. Roll on 4 pm I say, when the weekend begins. I have also kicked back in with my exercise routine and wow does it hurt to move!

As ever there are always great things to look back on and here they are…

Read

I’m not usually the one to read to Lil G, it is a little routine Mr H is in with him however he made a request that I read his new favourite story and I couldn’t help but snuggle up with him and indulge myself in a little bit of Peter Rabbit. I much prefer this new version of Peter Rabbit stories to the traditional ones. The language is much easier for them to understand and the stories are more engaging.

FullSizeRender (26)

Watched

The Counselor and oh my goodness. In brief it is a movie with some amazing actors. Action filled but VERY gruesome. The near to closing scene was shocking. A very dirty Cameron Diaz, I couldn’t help but think she was looking a little old. Maybe it was the way she was portrayed. Would I recommend it, I think I would although with a warning!

The_Counselor_Poster

We have also fallen head over heels with a series On Demand called ‘BlackList’. We’re catching up on the first series as the second series is about to start. It is an American Crime Drama, it is most definitely a hit for us.

Wore

A gorgeous new plaid scarf from Topshop. A friend kindly gave me a gift card for my birthday so I of course took the opportunity whilst working in the city to nip into the much larger Topshop than there is in my home town. I really love the colours. Apologies for the cheesy grin…

IMG_0594

 

A little birthday ensemble for our lunch out last weekend. I do love a white shirt and skinny jeans combination!? Although I think it is all about the necklace in this picture! You have to add just a little bit of glam don’t you!

IMG_0310

 

Wishing for the spring to arrive I have enjoyed adding a little pastel pink and vintage florals to the Kindergarten run this week. The shoes are a new favourite from Dr Martens, a Christmas present from Mr H…

FullSizeRender (27)

Heard

The groans as I made my way around the Caveman Training class this week. I did a class on Monday and again on Thursday. I won’t lie I am in a lot of pain. It hurts to walk and wow I feel stiff once I have sat down for a little bit. It will all be worth it. I kicked in with a health eating, no carbs, no sugar, high protein type diet 10 weeks ago and have lost a stone in weight so now I need to add some exercise and then hopefully I will feel more like myself which is the goal I set for 2015. To feel more like myself. To do more things that make me happy. Oddly that is exercise!

IMG_0485

Made

Lil G and Mr H made me a birthday cake (for those that follow my blog I am sure you have seen this picture before). It is a recipe from Mary Berry’s book…

FullSizeRender (7)

 

I was also given this gorgeous memory book as a birthday gift and I have really enjoyed making a start on recording down a memory for each day. I kept a daily journal before Lil G arrived but it is something which I haven’t managed to keep up with so this is something I am very grateful for…

FullSizeRender (24)

And lastly…

IMG_0551

 

…make the most of the time we have together as a family. Not being afraid to enjoy some down time together. As a full time working mummy I am guilty of squeezing in too many activities on a weekend. Maybe overcompensating for the small amount of time I see my gorgeous boy in the week. I have made a promise to myself not to do so. It isn’t always necessary.

I hope you have some lovely time with your families this weekend. We are off to meet a friends baby girls, twins! And at the minute not a lot more than that.

KA x

 

 

butwhymummywhy

15 thoughts on “A birthday, A new routine {Little Loves #2}

  1. Lovely post as ever KA.
    Good on you with the Caveman training, it sounds crazy tough!
    I’ve noticed The Counsellor on Sky and wasn’t sure if it was any good, think we’ll have to give it a try at the weekend.
    Have a lovely week xx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ouch, caveman training sounds a bit brutal! That Peter Rabbit re-vamp looks quite exciting, I think I heard Emma Thompson talking about that on a talkshow a while back. Glad you had a lovely birthday, hope the weekend was a good one 🙂 xx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh that cake looks fabulous and so glad to hear you had a lovely birthday! Those journals are such a good idea, i have a similar one called ‘Q&A A Day’ which can also be used for 5 years. It will be wonderful to look back on and see how the answers change over the years xxx #LittleLoves

    Liked by 1 person

  4. The caveman training sounds tough ( and the kinda thing I would sign up for and leave after 5 mins, im so lazy).Hope you enjoyed your birthday – looks like you had a great weekend celebrating. Love the necklace, and wow what a great cake!Have a lovely weekend xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  5. The cake looks amazing, the boot camp sounds horrific! Good on you for going back! I would not off bothered!! lol.. Loving everything about you attire this week! Looking gorgeous {as always!} xx

    Liked by 1 person

  6. The alarm setting this week has been painful! Glad it’s the weekend!
    I know they say not to judge a book by its cover, but that is super cute! I WANT!
    Glad you had a fab birthday and got an amazing cake lady! Have a great weekend 🙂 xx #littleloves

    Like

  7. I love to read peter rabbit! Such a cute book 🙂 and your plaid scarf is beautiful, it really suits you!
    I am also guilty of cramming too much into weekends as I don’t see the children when they are in school, I never think that they would like just down time too!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. The caveman training sounds pretty hardcore but I’m sure it will be worth it. I’ve heard that low carb, high protein diets are good but how do you manage with no sugar?
    I love your outfits, you look super pleased with your lovely scarf x #littleloves

    Liked by 2 people

  9. That cake – oh my word!

    That tartan scarf is awesome – really suits you too. I love Topshop for accessories!

    Blacklist is a great show – the twist will keep you guessing!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Gorgeous, gorgeous, gorgeous! I love all your outfits, as ever, and your birthday cake looks better than any bakery could whizz up. Perhaps a sideline business for Mr H and Lil’ G?? We have The Counsellor on our LoveFilm list – I’m a little nervous to get it now! 🙂 Have a great weekend luvvie xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hello lovely, aww thank you. It is a great movie honey so do watch is but there are some really gorey moments and the last one is very much eww and look behind your pillow but I am a real wuss and don’t watch horrors. Have a beautiful weekend and I look forward to seeing pics on IG x

      Like

I'd love to hear your thoughts...

