It’s All About Focus

2015 is the year for Focus. The year where I find myself again. Where I reintroduce things to my life which make me happy. Small things. Which reflect who I am. Opening new doors and closing others. I will be more in 2015. I will make it happen.

IMG_1078

 

Since Lil G arrived I have been guilty of closing off other parts of my life. Not all but far too much. There will always be precious time spent with my boys. Time together as a family. Just us. This will never be replaced. Family will always comes first. My blog a very close second. I may be obsessed! Although I can switch off and have proved this, this week.

The difference between now and then is simply ‘Our Little Family’. Life has changed. Now, that isn’t a bad thing but, I do need to learn to balance family life with being me. I am not just a mummy. I love being a mummy, but that isn’t all that I am.

In order to find myself again there are a few things I want to change. They are not resolutions. They are promises. I made them to myself before New Year. I actually started some of No2 8 weeks before Christmas so as to have the mental strength to continue. It is working.

Here they are…

  1. I promise to do more of what makes me happy – that may be to bake a cake, read a magazine with a hot cup of tea, listen to more music – not Mr H’s music, my music. To dance. To laugh. Keep a day journal, a memory book. To spend more time with friends. To visit the beach more. To eat out more as a family. To relax and not always rush to fill the day with an activity. To not feel so guilty for being a full-time working parent.
  2. I promise to be a better me – to exercise and to stick at it. I made a start on the 5th January. This is going well. I will be a cavewoman. I am really enjoying it actually. I cannot wait to see the transformation. To live a healthier lifestyle, to eat less of the bad stuff and more of the good stuff. To look forward to the clothes I will be wearing in the summer because my body will be on the way to how I want it to be. My new friends: fruit, nuts, seeds, carrot sticks, meat, fish, chicken, vegetables. To not get so frustrated by the little things. To stay calm. Be happy.
  3. I promise to be a better wife – Mr H takes care of the house. I work full-time, I have my blog and a paid writing role which I do in the evenings, therefore he cooks, he cleans. We split the support we give to Lil G. I do the thinking and planning around being a family. Mr H looks after money. I really do want to be a better wife. I think that means I have to clean more. Argh. Now to most of you reading this you will be thinking… What? Well, Mr H has OCD you see so the cleaning becomes an issue. I make the bed, he remakes the bed and so on. Nevertheless I will try.

And there you have it. My Focus for 2015. It is all about me. Some may say that is selfish. I think it’s about time.

KA x 

PS. I am trying to grow my Facebook page so if you would pop over and give it a ‘Like’ that would be super… http://on.fb.me/1ByG7n6

 

mumturnedmom

 

wordoftheweek

 

 

15 thoughts on “It’s All About Focus

  1. Great promises. Getting the balance right is so hard – I’ve done full-time working, part-time working and SAHM and none of them ever felt “right” for me. They all come with their own burdens of guilt :(. It sounds like you’re doing a fantastic job. x

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think that a happy mummy = a happy family, we can’t be all that we want to be for others when we have lost ourselves. These sound like wonderful goals for 2015, good luck x Thank you so much for sharing with #ThePrompt and sorry it’s taken such a long time for me to come and comment this week!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I don’t think you’re selfish at all, I think we sometimes lose ourselves and the little things that make us happy as individuals as we’re too busy with everything else! I think you’ve chosen great things to focus on in 2015 x
    #ThePrompt

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I think those are fantastic promises to yourself. And the knock on effect for your family should be fantastic too! I keep telling myself I need to make the effort to get healthier and make positive choices. I should probably just get on and do it, really 🙂 x

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I love all your promises to yourself. I need to dance more too, and listen to music. I feel like I lost my love of music after having kids and now I’m rediscovering it again. It’s easy to lose focus or have scattered focus with a family… but like you, I’m coming around and trying to find my footing, take care of myself, and focus on my family and the things that feed my soul.

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear your thoughts...

