Florals, Stripes and Polkadots

A little bedroom update for you…

The walls are gleaming in blossom pink. The light fitting is beautifully hanging in place. The fireplace is proudly taking centre stage. The floor has been dressed with luscious carpet. It literally feels like a cushion to walk on. Finally I can see my dream bedroom coming together. Finally the decorating is coming to an end. You can read all about our plans here my dream bedroom and looking at paint and wallpaper.

 

bedroom light

 

bedroom wall

 

So, what’s next? Only two of the most exciting steps in this little project. The wallpaper and the furniture. We have been struggling to make a decision. Or I should say, both Mr H and I made our decisions however neither were the same. After placing a sample of both wallpapers against the painted walls, Mr H won the battle and finally we are at the stage where we can dress one wall in this beautiful wallpaper from Clarke and Clarke. And this is happening tomorrow…

 

clarke and clarke paper

 

The most exciting part of all is that our old and tired furniture will be returning to us on Saturday. The lovely team at Milly and Roses are transforming a dressing table and wardrobe for us. It is soon to be shabby and chic. Cream and distressed. Pretty and beautiful.

Here is a sneaky peak at the painted furniture which is about to be distressed. We chose the Annie Sloan Paint, Ochre. I am really excited to see how it looks distressed. Here it is…

 

milly and roses

 

And now it’s time for one last thing. You guessed it. Accessories! I fear this will be an ongoing love affair. The dressing part is always most fun. Most expensive. Most addictive. I’m thinking florals, stripes and polkadots. The biggest decision at the minute is what colour and pattern throw we should go for. Our bedding is a beautiful white duvet cover with a lace finish. I’m torn with whether it should be soft and pale. However as the paper has a base colour of duck egg, I have just fallen in love with this stunning Laura Ashley blanket…

IMG_5699

 

And then there is the rest of the room to dress, pillows, a mirror, candles, a bed side, a bed light. So much choice. So many decisions. I have been pinning my ideas to a Bedroom Inspiration board on Pinterest here…

 

The Reading Residence
8 thoughts on “Florals, Stripes and Polkadots

  1. Pingback: Our Floral & Shabby Chic Bedroom Makeover… | life as our little family

  2. So gorgeous and feminine. My sister has a very similar throw from Laura Ashley, I try and fit it in my bag every time I visit, but she always catches me!! Looking forward to seeing the end result x

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh your bedroom is going to look lovely! I love the pendant light, the colour scheme and the wallpaper. How did you get your husband to agree with a floral design? When we did ours a few years ago, I wanted floral Cath Kidston wallpaper. But he said no way! We settled with a lovely CK wallpaper of boats and lighthouses for that coastal feel. I still want floral! #wotw.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Decorating, Good Food and Shoes #LittleLoves | life as our little family

I'd love to hear your thoughts...

