Sunshine, Friends & Ice Cream

Today was one of those, let’s soak up the good weather and have a quality family day together kind of day. When you wake to a blue sky, as we have for the last two days, it’s pretty fabulous. Don’t you think? It was a happy Sunday. A happy weekend. A sunny, blue skies kind of Sunday. As Lil G pretty much spent yesterday with me, we were both looking forward to seeing Mr H. What better way to spend a Sunday than at one of Lil G’s favourite hangouts. Wheelock Farm in Sandbach, Cheshire. If you are local and haven’t been, you must! A day of fun for just £3.50. And who better to share it with than his best buddy, Freddy.

FullSizeRender (54)

Lil G being an only child, as is his buddy Freddy, I think it is really important for us to spend time together. With friends. Whether it be a trip out, a play date or even a chance meeting in the street. Which happens often as not only are these two best pals, we also live a few yards away. Having his friend on our doorstep, as well as his lovely mummy and daddy is wonderful. I dread the day they leave our street (plans are in motion *cries*). We are all very lucky. Our boys play so well together. No fighting. No arguments. Just good old-fashioned play.

I often wonder if Lil G ever gets lonely. I would quite like to ask him. Would I? I don’t think he would understand, and if he said yes he is then I would be heart-broken. I wonder what the signs would be of him feeling lonely? I have to stand by our decision not to have anymore little ones. It isn’t a decision we have taken lightly. We are the type of parents to immerse ourselves in play with him. We also leave him to his own devices which he has always enjoyed. He has such a wild imagination that it is rather beautiful just to stand back and watch. To see this little world of his come to life. I have noticed of late that he is asking us to join in with his play. Is this a sign that he is lonely or developmental? Even with some of his friends, they can be sat in the same room and not play together at this age (3.5-years). Is it just a phase or am I being really mean?

I digress. Back to the boys. It makes my heart melt when I see their little friendship growing. How some-days they throw their arms around each other and others where they play it cool. Occasionally I catch them having a little conversation together. Oh to be a fly on the wall. They’re a cheeky little duo. A beautiful little duo.

FullSizeRender (53)

Today we asked our friends to join us on our little trip out. To share an ordinary moment, a trip out to a farm. Some days it is good to be just us, today it was good to have friends around. Not only do the boys love each other so much, it’s good for us adults to catch up too. Despite living in the same street, week’s can pass without bumping into each other or we simply exchange a wave as we rush off in a morning. As adults we know only too well how important having strong friendships is, I want Lil G to value that too. Hopefully we are on the right track.

We had a gorgeous day. Here are a few photo’s from our little day out…

FullSizeRender (52)

FullSizeRender (50)

FullSizeRender (49)

FullSizeRender (51)

FullSizeRender (47)

FullSizeRender (46)

FullSizeRender (44)

FullSizeRender (45)

FullSizeRender (41)

FullSizeRender (43)

FullSizeRender (42)

The best days end with ice cream!

What do you enjoy doing on your family days?

KA x

theordinarymomentsbadge_zps284f9457

Let's Talk Mommy
7 thoughts on “Sunshine, Friends & Ice Cream

  1. I too have an only child and she has told me that she isn’t lonely, she just gets bored playing by herself or with me or another adult. Unfortunately she doesn’t really have a best friend who lives nearby that she can play with often. I wish she had a good friend like your little one has.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I know what you mean. My daughter is an only child too and sometimes I wonder if she’s also lonely? She has a best friend whom she’s known since she was about 2 and he’s just had a baby sister. She tells me sometimes that she also wants to have a baby sister. I wish it were that easy to conceive and that I was just a little bit younger? I could grant her, her wish! #sharewithme.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. What a gorgeous day out and so lovely and lucky to have such close friends. I think it may just be a stage they go through, I am sure he is not lonely, my big girl constantly asks to be played with at the moment even though we play all the time and she has her little sister- she is definitely going through a needy stage! 😉 x

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear your thoughts...

