The Best Job In The World

Being a Mummy. The person Lil G calls mumma. Being the one he turns to. Being the one our furry baby wakes up first each morning. With his wet nose pressed against mine. Being mummy is the best job in the world. It’s tiring. Exhausting. Messy at times. It’s tough but oh my I wouldn’t change it.

From that very first touch. How that overwhelming sense of love engulfs you. The urge to become protector, fighter of all things evil. To have just one special power. To be a super mum.

Last week tested me. I failed my boy. I wasn’t there when he needed me (you can read about that here). Thoroughly drained from a week at the office and a HUGE 36 hours away from my boys I was far from feeling like a super mum. That somehow I had let my boy down. The journey home on Friday never took so long. I was longing for my little family.

At the back of my mind I was concerned about the work I needed to complete on my blog and the millions of ideas whirring around in my head of posts I wanted to write-up. On the other hand, I just needed to chill. To be mummy and wife. To regain my status as super mummy. To spend time away from distraction. To focus on our little family. To regain the balance.

I remembered this quote I’d seen on Pinterest…

image

It got me thinking. By being so busy with work, and away for a night, what had I missed?

The ordinary moments. The little things. Life’s simple pleasures.

Putting him to bed, waking up with him, hearing his little yawns as he comes out of his deep sleep. Tip toeing into his bedroom to say goodnight just one more time (I’m a creepy mum!). Reading him a story, eating breakfast together, enjoying a morning snuggle and hearing about his day. Being present. These are the ordinary moments of being a mummy, a parent. As a full-time working mummy I crave these moments and miss them terribly when things get in the way.

Parenting guilt hit me. If it were a disease, it would be a killer. One without cure. Will it ever leave me?

Here are my five ways of not missing out

  1. Say yes. To a trip out. A game. Something you would usually say no to. What is it they would ask to do and you would say no to?
  2. Turn off your alerts. For a few hours. For a whole day. Enjoy life without social media. Step away from your blog. From Facebook. From Twitter. Without distraction. Let them know they come first.
  3. Dance. Pop on some music. Sing out loud. Dance free. Together. Have fun. Twirl. I used to love to twirl as a little girl.
  4. Put away your camera (the most difficult of all for me). Be present. Live in the moment. No pictures. Just memories. Feel your time together. Live and breathe it.
  5. Sit back and watch. Let them be kids. Let them play. Grow. Learn. Join in when asked. Help them with that difficult puzzle but otherwise take a step back. I often see Lil G looking for me but not always wanting me to join in. He has a beautiful world of imaginative play. No need for distraction from me.

My gorgeous boy is the reason I wake up each morning. The reason I breathe. The reason I am tired. The reason I feel and look 10 years older. The reason for working so hard. The reason for writing this post.

image

image

It is all about Lil G. Our Little Family. I love my boy. So so much. On the days where I’m not always present I will remember to be present, to be a good mummy on those days which can be free from distraction. I owe him that much.

Now, to grow a money tree, which will allow me to enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner with my boy everyday!

How do you ensure you spend quality time together?

KA x 

 

 

Let's Talk Mommy

Brilliant blog posts on HonestMum.com

27 thoughts on “The Best Job In The World

  1. I am trying to make sure that when I’m there I am more present but do often spend my time when I’m at work thinking about the children. Needs must where work is concerned but you’re right about it all – that love, the overwhelming feeling – it is worth every bit of work, tiredness and everything else that comes with it. Beautiful post x

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Some excellent reminders here, thank you! I cannot believe some days how much time is spent on line, how social media takes over haha Just last week I kept my phone on silent and it made a HUGE different and yes your right, dancing with kids is brilliant, mine were beaming! x

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh what a beautiful post and that quote is just perfect; it’s what we all strive towards, even though real life and the lack of money trees sometimes means we have to balance the short and long term – and that’s where the guilt comes in!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This bought tears to my eyes as it completely hit home for me! I work long hours hardly seeing him at all mon/tues/wed/fri and still working and not putting my phone away for the other Days! That quote is amazing and so so true! Thank you for making me realise I’m not alone and reminding me again what I should be doing x

    Liked by 1 person

  5. OH Kerri-Ann I love love this post. And those photos of your little one are stunning to by the way. The quote is so true and I try to follow that exact outlook on life with my two kids. I blog when they nap or when they go to bed. On weekend I might take an hour away and let daddy bond with the kids just them because I think that’s important too. Other than that I try to focus on the kids, the little moments and the fun during the day. So far it’s a balance thing to try to find time for just me but I am loving blogging so much that it feels like me time while I am doing it. So for now that’s how I do it. You sound like you have a great balance too hunny. (side note: lovely to have spent so much time with you yesterday you are so lovely). Thanks for linking up to Share With Me #sharewithme

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aww thank you honey. I do punish myself for not always being here. So glad to have been able to chat yesterday. Makes such a difference to these online friendships. Thank you for your kind words. I really appreciate it. So hard some days x x

      Liked by 1 person

      • I feel the same hunny and alot of us doing this feel this way too. Its good to share it so we all don’t feel alone in it. It’s hard to balance everything and everyone in one day, day after day. I know my hands are tied sometimes with two toddlers and I have so much I want to do on my blog and no time to do it.

        Liked by 1 person

  6. I do love that quote, and it’s so powerful, too. That parenting guilt is never-ending, I’m quite certain of it. Those are lovely tips, and they do all help you to put other things aside and just live in the moment. It is hard to do, and I find myself forever juggling my blogging and my family, and as I type this, I know I’m about to go snuggle on the sofa with mine and watch a movie. Lovely to switch off 🙂 x

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Pingback: Date Night, Family Time & New Shoes #LittleLoves | life as our little family

  8. I’ve been feeling guilty lately of trying to spin too many plates and not being ‘present’ enough. I go through phases of this and right now, life seems to have got on top of me a bit. My thoughts are often elsewhere when I’m either with my children or whatever I’m doing. So much going on right now that it’s tricky! I need to remember to turn off that phone of an evening and not to worry about it. I’m not even concentrating properly on a film or TV programme cos I’m on Twitter on catching up with emails. Thank you for the reminder. I need bringing back down to earth every now and again! x

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I’m going to be away from my family over the next two days (I’m heading your way – I’ll be in Manchester!) and I will also miss tjem terribly and wonder about what I’m missing. Thankfully I don’t go away with work too often – it’s maybe 8-10 days a year on average and a smattering of evening commitments. What I’ve taught myself is that it’s not worth fretting about the few days you do miss – it’s far better to focus on the many days you have together. Those are the ones the kids will remember.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m so glad you’re really positive about it Tim. I needed to hear that. I truly believe that I just need to take a step back from other commitments on the family days. They really are so few and far between. Enjoy Manchester. I’m in Spinningfields if you fancy coffee 🙂

      Like

      • I think things would be different if I travelled a lot, but I have deliberately avoided jobs like that since becoming a dad, even though that has limited mu options.

        Sadly I’m just up and back in Manchester. I’m at the Deansgate for an industry event tomorrow evening then heading straight back down south first thing on Friday morning. SIgh.

        Liked by 1 person

  10. Such a beautiful post, I love how much you love being a Mummy, you love for G is present in everything you write! I’m getting better at putting my phone away for a few hours. Now Lucas is getting older every other weekend we have a film night and let him stay up late, it is a perfect way for us both to be with just him and it usually ends with us dancing round the living room! xx

    Liked by 1 person

  11. This post really strikes a chord with how I’m feeling and I completely agree with what you say. It’s something I’ve wanted to talk about buy like you, I have a long list of things to write but time escapes me. We all want to capture every moment but sometimes forget to live in it.

    It’s also important to remember that while we aren’t around because we are working (which is all for them, really) they are growing in other ways.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Aaah KA this is such a lovely post, you can really feel the love you have for your boy here 🙂 Try not to beat yourself up too much though if you go away, whether it’s work or play. I personally don’t think it does anyone any harm to have a breather from each other once in a while (or more often!). I find a short time apart makes me appreciate the children more, and I can’t wait to get back to them then, with my batteries recharged. I do think you’re right though about being present more when we are with them- I am determined to have more time where my phone is left upstairs so I’m not tempted to fiddle, or to put something frankly unnecessary on Instagram or the like! I will keep a pen and paper near me instead, so if I do have an idea then I can scribble it down. You’re spot on about being in the moment more. I think it’s something that us bloggers are possibly guilty of not doing, more so than others, as we constantly want to capture, or write about what we’re doing, instead of just enjoying it! x

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear your thoughts...

