And our thoughts turn to DisneyLand…

With only 3 more sleeps to go until we reveal to Lil G where we will be taking him for his birthday. I cannot help but feel excited and full of mixed emotions. Where did I put that time machine? Are we really approaching Lil G’s 4th Birthday? It seems so. Do you think he’d notice if I put it back a year or so? As I write this post it wasn’t long ago that our gorgeous boy returned home from a day of celebrations at Kindergarten. As he left me this morning it was with a heavy heart that I waved him off. He has had himself a little superhero birthday party as unbeknownst to him we will actually be eating breakfast with Mickey & friends on his birthday! Therefore no birthday party this year. Which he can’t quite understand! Hopefully he will once Thursday arrives.

FullSizeRender

From the moment we found out that we were pregnant we have had a list of things we’d like to do and places we’d like to visit. It is safe to say a trip like this was high up on the list. I’m so thankful that we’re able to make such memories happen for our gorgeous boy. I say this so many times, but our gorgeous little boy and our little family are my world. He brings so much joy to our days and in the same breath so much emotion. Today I am feeling the emotional side of being a parent.

We initially planned to tell him in a big reveal with clues and all that jazz but on reflection Lil G doesn’t quite associate the magic of DisneyLand with Buzz, Woody, Mickey and Pluto. You see, if you ask him where Buzz & Woody live he’ll tell you, in Andy’s bedroom, not DisneyLand. And he’s right. If you ask him where Mickey & Pluto live he’ll tell you, in Mickeys Clubhouse not DisneyLand. If you ask him where Tinkerbell lives he’ll tell you, in Pixie Hollow of course. Not DisneyLand. And if you ask him where Spidy is, he’ll say; he’s making webs and catching bad guys! Spidy will in fact be at DisneyLand whilst we’re there! Now that’s exciting.

So in a bid to build the excitement and understanding that all of his favourite characters will in fact be in the one place, for the 5 magical days we are there, we have been drip feeding information to him over the last few weeks. Watching videos on YouTube, planting the seed, I think it’s working. I guess we will see in 3-days time. Oh I do hope so. Hopefully these little beauties which he’ll find in his birthday surprise box will help…

FullSizeRender (221)

FullSizeRender (3)

6-months in the planning for us, endless trips to the Disney Store for bits to pop in his surprise box, so much reading of reviews and watching You Tube videos. Let’s not forget the nightly planning of which restaurants to book, fastrack passes, character spotting, what to do, what not to do, and of course how to navigate the park.

We booked this trip back in January. Something for us to look forward to but also we thought it would be the perfect way to celebrate our gorgeous boys birthday. Something so special that the memories will last a lifetime. As a young girl I dreamed of going to DisneyLand and such is the joy of parenting I get to live one of my childhood dreams through our soon to be 4-year-old. I may have bought myself a little Disney inspired t-shirt to wear on Lil G’s birthday. Oh my goodness. I just need some mini mouse ears!

FullSizeRender (1)

All of the EEKS.

Well, I can’t quite believe our little family trip is nearly here. See you on the other side! With a 4-year old. With some fabulous memories and hopefully a little bit of a sun tan. Now that would be nice! Have a lovely week.

KA x

Let's Talk Mommy
15 thoughts on “And our thoughts turn to DisneyLand…

  1. OH how very exciting. There is nothing more magical in all the world to an adult as much to a child. I am excited for you. We have plans in a few years to take both kids too and even I get excited over it. I can’t wait to read all about your disney adventures soon. Thank you so much for linking up to Share With Me #sharewithme

    Liked by 1 person

  2. How lovely to have created a surprise box for him! What a wonderful idea! I can’t wait to hear all about your big trip as we’ve been looking at taking our two little dudes there eventually! Following you now for updates ! #sharewithme

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love Disney! My boys are not into it at all…they’d rather travel around and go to various sports stadiums (ugh). I think I waited too long. My precious little nieces have big plans to go in a couple years, the 5 yo invited me. My sister and brother-in-law don’t know it yet, but I’m totally going with them lol. I want princess tea parties, dammit, not the football hall of fame! #sharewithme

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m excited for you! You will have so much fun and Lil G face will be a picture when he meets all his favourite characters. I think it would blow Lucas’ mind meeting Buzz Lightyear! Can’t wait to hear all about your holiday, I’l be stalking your IG xx #sharewithme

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I can sense your excitement just by reading this post. Disneyland is absolutely magical and I’m sure you and the rest of the family will ensure it. You will want to capture and bottle “the look on his face when he sees all his favourite characters in front of him. It’s priceless.

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear your thoughts...

